Roses

Roses

I enjoy making Biological sculptures, and my roses are almost a signature for me. Here are some examples!

To make these I cut out the patterns for the petals and hammer the back of them with a special hammer I made, for a soft petal like texture.

I then braze on the stem and leaf, and cool it in water. The heat of the torch is where the color comes from and each piece of copper comes out with a different look.

This arrangement is in an Iron vase that I made in my blacksmith forge. I made the roses and heated them all together so that their color would be as consistent as possible.

This next picture of some of my rose buds is a simple example of how different each piece can come out. As you can see there is a lot of variation.

This is the largest rose I produce it is the same size as the type in the vase only it stands on its own stem.

~ by davidrwalker on November 20, 2007.

One Response to “Roses”

  1. These are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

 
